The interactive hub of the information world


2017 nominees announced!

Professional of the Year

Rowenna Fielding, IG lead for various third sector organisations
Andrew Harvey, Head of IG, Western Sussex Hospital Trusts
Madi McAliister, IG and IM Officer, Merton Borough Council
Sarah Norman, UK Legal Entity Controller (Records), Bank of New York Mellon
David Paris, Head of IG, Historic Environment Scotland

Team of the Year

Cyngor Gwynedd Council - iGwynedd e-File project team 
Digital Preservation Coalition - full team 
Direct Line Insurance - Records Management team 
Fife Council - Archive and Records Store team 
Health and Safety Authority (Ireland) - e-Files Storage and Disposition project team 
Information Governance Alliance - Records Management Code of Practice project team 
Ofwat - Information Governance Improvement project team 
Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman - Egress System implementation team 
Storetec - full team 
Translink - Information Management team 

Supplier of the Year

Box-it - for general achievement in 2016
Crown Records Management - for general achievement in 2016
Digital Preservation Coalition - for achievement since establishment in 2002
Objective Corporation - for their Thurrock Council EDMS implementation
Restore Records Management - for general achievement in 2016
Webfooted Designs - for going the extra mile in managing the IRMS website in 2016

Innovation of the Year

Department for International Development (DFID) - Digital Vault record storage and retrieval system
Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) - re-imagined Digital Preservation Handbook

The nominees for Lifetime Achievement Award, Alison North Award for New Professionals, and Tribal Bulletin Content Award are still to be announced.

The winners of all awards will now be determined by the relevant panel, except for the Team of Year which will be decided by a membership vote! Look out for the link in the February edition of Off the Record, the IRMS members' e-newsletter. If you're a member but you don't think you receive this, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

IRMS Industry Awards

The IRMS Industry Awards mark outstanding achievement.  Each year nominations are invited for the IRMS Industry Awards. Once nominations are received eligible nominations then published with the winners announced and their awards presented at the glittering Annual Gala and Industry Awards Dinner, held at our annual conference.

Who is eligible for nomination?

Any individual, team or organisation active in the Information Sector is eligible for nomination for an IRMS Industry Award .  However, only current members of the Society can submit a nomination.

Nominations for Supplier of the Year, Team of the Year and Professional of the Year should be made for those who have performed to the highest level, perhaps especially over the past year, or perhaps over a number of years leading to particular achievements or milestones over the past 12 months. This can be in project/non-routine work or it can related to what might be regarded as 'business as usual' development and delivery.

How do I nominate?

Nomination can either be on behalf of an entrant or by a entrant themselves and must be submitted in the form of an email sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by the closing date. Nominations must include

- name of the nominee/s
- the role/s and Organisation (if applicable) of the nominee/s
- which award they are nominated for
- the email contact details of the nominee/s
- a 150 word statement on why they are nominated
- name and membership number of the person nominating.

All nominations will receive an email receipt.  This will be issued to both the member nominating and the nominee.

How are the winners decided?

Judging is by various means.

The Winners of Professional of the Year, Team of the Year and both the Lifetime Achievement Award and whether there should be a Special Award are determined by the Executive.  The Winner of Innovation of the Year is determined by a Member vote whilst the Winner of Supplier of the Year is decided by the Awards Committee.  Finally, the Winner of the IRMS Alison North New Professionals Award is judged by Alison herself and the Chair whilst the IRMS Tribal Bulletin Content Award is judged by the Editor and the Communications Officer. Finally, the winner of Innovation of the Year will be determined by a membership vote.

In all cases,  the decision determined by the above means is final.

Can I sponsor an award?

Yes - organisations and individuals can sponsor awards. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.

What is the full list of categories?

Innovation of the year

Awarded for the best nominated new idea or system.

Tribal Bulletin Content Award

Awarded to the author of the best content in the Bulletin.

Supplier of the Year

Awarded to the best nominated supplier or contactor.

Special Award

Occasional award for excellence made at the discretion of the Executive.

Alison North Award for New Professionals (entry by submission of essay)

Open to those in their first 3 years in the profession- both those in employment and those in full-time or part-time study. Entry is via submission of a written piece. The prize is attendance at the Conference (all expenses paid!). Please see appropriate texts for details

Team of the Year

Awarded to the outstanding nominated team of the Year.

Professional of the Year

Awarded to the nominated professional who has had the most outstanding year.

Records Management Lifetime Achievement Award

Awarded to a professional of outstanding achievement over the term of their career.

The IRMS also confers Fellowships and Honorary Life Memberships to individuals deemed deserving of these honours. Please follow this link to see a list of previous Award Recipients. If you would like to speak to us about these awards please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Honorary Life Membership

This is the Society’s Highest honour. It is conferred by the Executive and it is awarded to members deemed worthy of the Honour. It is not necessarily awarded annually although it may be awarded to more than one individual in any year.

If you believe a member is deserving of this honour, please email the Chair to discuss This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


In addition its various awards, the Society has a College of Fellows. Fellows of the Society are individuals who have, in the estimation of the Society, satisfied certain criteria of seniority and/or achievement within the Information professions. Non-members can also be inducted into the College. Such individuals are created Honorary Fellows.

For more information of IRMS Fellowship, see

How do I find out more about the IRMS awards?

For more information on IRMS Awards, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Download this file (Innovation of the Year nominees.docx)Innovation of the Year nominees 2017[Innovation of the Year nominees 2017]12 kB
Download this file (Professional of the Year nominees.docx)Professional of the Year nominees 2017[Professional of the Year nominees 2017]15 kB
Download this file (Supplier of the Year nominees.docx)Supplier of the Year nominees 2017[Supplier of the Year nominees 2017]14 kB
Download this file (Team of the Year nominees.docx)Team of the Year nominees 2017[Team of the Year nominees 2017]16 kB


If you have any comments about the site, please contact the eOfficer via the contact form or by email; This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..