Accept Cookies?
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Become a Member!
2018 Awards
Share |

2018 Awards

The IRMS is pleased to announce the nominees for our prestigious industry awards in 2018!

Each year the IRMS recognises excellence in the field of information management with our prestigious Industry Awards. These highly sought-after awards are presented at a glittering ceremony following our Gala Dinner, the centrepiece of our annual Conference.

The main award categories are:

  • Professional of the Year 
  • New Professional of the Year
  • Team of the Year 
  • Supplier of the Year 
  • Innovation of the Year 

It's not only the winners who are rewarded, though - we highlight and celebrate all the nominees.


The nominees for 2018 are as follows: 

Professional of the Year

Barry Moult, Colchester Hospital

Joan Farley, Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Council

Lauri Almond, Essex County Council

Rowenna Fielding, Protecture Ltd

Sarah Graham, NHS England

Suzy Lorton, London Borough of Barnet


New Professional of the Year

Penny Wright and Ruth Azzam, Historic Environment Scotland and Audit Scotland

Ricci Wilding, Essex County Council


Team of the Year

Essex County Council Information Governance Team

Glasgow City Council Data Protection Ready Team

Leicester City Council Information Governance & Risk Team


Supplier of the Year

Egress Secure Email

Mitie Document Management team


Innovation of the Year

Business File Plan Automation Project, Welsh Government

DPO Service for Schools, Essex County Council

Health and Social Care Partnership Integration Programme, Glasgow City Council


 Congratulations to all and good luck for the big night on Monday 21 May 2018!



When deciding whether or not to nominate someone start by taking a look at our previous winners and nominees. We are looking for a contribution either to the community or your organisation that has either been motivational, above and beyond, innovative, industry leading or thought provoking. Or indeed, all of the above! Ultimately if you feel this person or organisation has genuinely made a difference then please do consider nominating them. As information professionals we are often on the front line for when things go wrong so these awards, in part, are there to celebrate the successes we have as a profession. 

For the New Professional Award, 2018 was the first year where entry was via nomination. However, the prize continues to be a fully-paid place at conference and instead of published piece, a publication of a ‘Spot light on’ the winner in the IRMS Bulletin. You can nominate yourself or be nominated however 200 words must be given as to why the new professional is deserving of the prize and what the nominee feels the new professional has done during their first 3 years of the career that deserves this award.

How to Nominate

While all in the profession are eligible for nomination, only members of the Society can nominate for an award. Nomination can either be on behalf of an entrant or by an entrant themselves and must be submitted via email. Nominations must include:

  • name of the person or organisation you are nominating (and ideally contact details for them)
  • the role/s and organisation (if applicable) of the nominee/s
  • which award you are nominating them for
  • the email contact details of the nominee/s
  • a 150-word statement on why you are nominating them
  • your name and membership number

Nominations should be made for those who have performed to the highest level, especially over the past year, or over a number of years leading to particular achievements or milestones over the past 12 months. This can be in project work or it can be related to 'business as usual' development and delivery. Guidance, including examples of previous winners, can be found on the awards page on our website.

The deadline for nominations 2018 was midnight on 16 March. Once your nomination is received the Awards Panel will verify that each nomination is correct then put out to public vote (via our members) the nominees for supplier and innovation of the year. The Team, Professional, Lifetime Achievement, New Professional and Bulletin Author of the year awards are all decided by the awards panel.

Other awards

Other awards we present are as follows: 

  • Bulletin Author of the Year Award - Presented to the best contributor to the IRMS Bulletin each year, judged by the Bulletin Editorial Team.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award Awarded to an information professional who has achieved distinction over the length of their career.
  • Special Award - An occasional award for excellence made at the discretion of the Executive Team.

The Awards Panel

The IRMS Awards are overseen by a panel of 5 members of the IRMS leadership team. These 5 volunteers, led by the Society's Chair, oversee the Awards process and criteria. Where an award is decided by an awards panel they will act as that panel and where there is a tie in a public vote they will have the casting vote. 

The members of the awards panel for 2018 are:

  • Scott Sammons (IRMS Chair) 
    • Declared Interests = Employed by Essex County Council, guest blogger & exam board member for Act Now Training Ltd.
  • Sarah Norman (IRMS Training Director)
    • Declared Interests = Employed by Kinapse, volunteer on transcription projects for friends of The National Archives. 
  • Roger Poole (IRMS Commercial Director)
    • Declared Interests = None, currently self employed
  • Neil Reeves (IRMS Digital Director)
    • Declared Interests = Employed by Serco.
  • David Paris (IRMS Scotland Group Chair)
    • Declared Interests = Employed by Historic Environment Scotland, Individual Member of the Scottish Council on Archives. 

You can find a copy of their Terms of Reference on the IRMS website. Any questions for the panel should be sent to  

When deciding the Tribal Content Award a recommendation is made to the panel by our 2 editors in Tribal and the IRMS. 

When deciding the New Professional Award a recommendation is made to the panel by our Chair and Alison North. 

Find out who has been awarded in previous years by viewing our list of past winners.

Contact Us

Chester House
68 Chestergate
Macclesfield, SK11 6DY
United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)1625 664520
Fax: +44 (0)1625 664510


Follow Us
Become A Member

With a bi-monthly magazine, annual conference, accreditation possibilities and a competitively priced annual membership, there really is no reason why you shouldn't join this fantastic society!