Accept Cookies?
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Become a Member!
2018 Awards
Share |

2018 Awards

The IRMS is pleased to announce that nominations are open for our prestigious industry awards for 2018!

Each year the IRMS recognises excellence in the field of information management with our prestigious Industry Awards. These highly sought-after awards are presented at a glittering ceremony following our Gala Dinner, the centrepiece of our annual Conference.

The main award categories are:

  • Professional of the Year 
  • Team of the Year 
  • Supplier of the Year 
  • Innovation of the Year 

It's not only the winners who are rewarded, though - we highlight and celebrate all the nominees.

Nominations are sought from early in the New Year, which are then judged by an Awards panel - or for the supplier and innovation categories the winner is decided by public vote.



The Awards Panel

The IRMS awards are overseen by a panel of 5 members of the IRMS leadership team. These 5 volunteers, led by the Society's Chair, oversee the Awards process and criteria. Where an award is decided by an awards panel they will act as that panel and where there is a tie in a public vote they will have the casting vote. 

The members of the awards panel for 2018 are;

  • Scott Sammons (IRMS Chair) 
    • Declared Interests = Employed by Essex County Council, guest blogger & exam board member for Act Now Training Ltd.
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Vacant

You can find a copy of their Terms of Reference on the IRMS website. Any questions for the panel should be sent to  

How to Nominate

While all in the profession are eligible for nomination, only members of the Society can nominate for an award. Nomination can either be on behalf of an entrant or by a entrant themselves and must be submitted via email. Nominations must include:

  • name of the nominee/s
  • the role/s and organisation (if applicable) of the nominee/s
  • which award they are nominated for
  • the email contact details of the nominee/s
  • a 150-word statement on why they are nominated
  • name and membership number of the person nominating

Nominations should be made for those who have performed to the highest level, especially over the past year, or over a number of years leading to particular achievements or milestones over the past 12 months. This can be in project work or it can be related to 'business as usual' development and delivery.

Other awards

Other awards we present are as follows: 

  • Alison North Award for New Professionals - Open to those in their first 3 years in the profession - both those in employment and those in full-time or part-time study. Entry is via submission of a written piece and the prize is a fully-paid place at the Conference and publication of the article in the IRMS Bulletin. More details on the New Professionals Award page.
  • Tribal Bulletin Content AwardAlso known as 'Author of the Year', this is presented to the best contributor to the IRMS Bulletin each year, judged by the Bulletin Editorial Team.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award Awarded to an information professional who has achieved distinction over the length of their career.
  • Special Award - An occasional award for excellence made at the discretion of the Executive Team.

Find out who has been awarded in previous years by viewing our list of past winners.

Contact Us

Chester House
68 Chestergate
Macclesfield, SK11 6DY
United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)1625 664520
Fax: +44 (0)1625 664510


Follow Us
Become A Member

With a bi-monthly magazine, annual conference, accreditation possibilities and a competitively priced annual membership, there really is no reason why you shouldn't join this fantastic society!