This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Become a Member!
IRMS Awards
Share |

IRMS Awards


Each year the IRMS recognises excellence in the field of information management with our prestigious Industry Awards. These highly sought-after awards are presented at a glittering ceremony following our Gala Dinner, the centrepiece of our annual Conference.

The main award categories are:

  • Professional of the Year 
  • New Professional of the Year
  • Team of the Year 
  • Supplier of the Year 
  • Innovation of the Year 
  • Lifetime Achievement 

It's not only the winners who are rewarded, though - we highlight and celebrate all the nominees.

Nominations are sought from early in the New Year, which are then judged by an Awards panel - or for the supplier and innovation categories the winner is decided by public vote.


When deciding whether or not to nominate someone start by taking a look at our previous winners and nominees. We are looking for a contribution either to the community or your organisation that has either been motivational, above and beyond, innovative, industry leading or thought provoking. Or indeed, all of the above! Ultimately if you feel this person or organisation has genuinely made a difference then please do consider nominating them. As information professionals we are often on the front line for when things go wrong so these awards, in part, are there to celebrate the successes we have as a profession. 

For full details of the criteria for each award please visit

The Awards Panel

The IRMS awards are overseen by a panel of 5 members of the IRMS leadership team. These 5 volunteers, led by the Society's Chair, oversee the Awards process and criteria. Where an award is decided by an awards panel they will act as that panel and where there is a tie in a public vote they will have the casting vote. 

You can find details of the current members, their declared interests and it's terms of reference via

How nominations work

While all in the profession are eligible for nomination, only members of the Society can nominate for an award. Nomination can either be on behalf of an entrant or by an entrant themselves and must be submitted via emailNominations must include:

  • name of the person or organisation you are nominating (and ideally contact details for them)
  • the role/s and organisation (if applicable) of the nominee/s
  • which award you are nominating them for
  • the email contact details of the nominee/s
  • a statement on why you are nominating them (no longer than 1000 words)
  • your name and membership number

Nominations should be made for those who have performed to the highest level, especially over the past year, or over a number of years leading to particular achievements or milestones over the past 12 months. This can be in project work or it can be related to 'business as usual' development and delivery. Guidance, including examples of previous winners, can be found on the awards criteria page on our website.

Once all the nominations are received the Awards Panel will verify that each nomination is correct then put out to public vote (via our members) the nominees for supplier, team and professional of the year. The Innovation, Lifetime Achievement, New Professional and Bulletin Content awards are all decided by the awards panel.

Find out who has been awarded in previous years by viewing our list of past winners.

Other awards

The IRMS also confers Fellowships and Honorary Life Memberships to individuals deemed deserving of these honours. 

Honorary Life Membership
This is the Society’s Highest honour. It is conferred by the Executive and it is awarded to members deemed to have made an exceptional contribution to the information profession. It is not necessarily awarded annually although it may be awarded to more than one individual in any year. If you believe a member is deserving of this honour, please
email the Chair to discuss.

In addition its various awards, the Society has a College of Fellows. Fellows of the Society are individuals who have, in the estimation of the Society, satisfied certain criteria of seniority and/or achievement within the Information professions. Non-members can also be inducted into the College. Such individuals are created Honorary Fellows.

For more information on IRMS Fellowship, see
our Fellowship page.

For more information on IRMS Awards, please email the Awards Panel.

Contact Us

Chester House
68 Chestergate
Macclesfield, SK11 6DY
United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)1625 664520
Fax: +44 (0)1625 664510


Follow Us
Become A Member

With a bi-monthly magazine, annual conference, accreditation possibilities and a competitively priced annual membership, there really is no reason why you shouldn't join this fantastic society!