This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Become a Member!
Our History
Share |

Our History

Watch this space for a 'potted history' of the IRMS, from its foundation as the Records Management Society of Great Britain in 1983 to its 30th anniversary - to be written by one of our longest-serving volunteers.

Meanwhile, below is a list of past Chairs of the Society - 

2016- Scott Sammons
2014-2016 Meic Pierce Owen
2013-2014 Nicholas Cooper
2009-2013 Matthew Stephenson
2005-2009 Paul Duller
2003-2005 Clotilde Wang
2002-2003 Ceri Hughes
2000-2002 Mike Marsh
1998-2000 Catherine Hare
1995-1998 Philip Jones
1993-1995 Mike Steemson
1992-1993 Graham Southwood
1989-1992 Sue Garland
1986-1989 Shelley Hardcastle
1984-1986 Bill Young
1983-1984 Tom LeCompte

Find out more about the volunteers from across the information management profession who oversee the running of the IRMS today by visiting our Leadership Team page.

Contact Us

Chester House
68 Chestergate
Macclesfield, SK11 6DY
United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)1625 664520
Fax: +44 (0)1625 664510


Follow Us
Become A Member

With a bi-monthly magazine, annual conference, accreditation possibilities and a competitively priced annual membership, there really is no reason why you shouldn't join this fantastic society!