This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Privacy Policy | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Become a Member!
IRMS Fellowship
Share |

Fellowship of the IRMS

Fellowship is the senior degree of IRMS membership.  It is awarded those members of ten years or more standing who have, in the opinion of their peers, attained appropriate eminence, authority or seniority. Non-members of the Society deemed worthy can be awarded honorary fellowships.

First awarded on the 30th anniversary of the founding of the Society in 2013, both the role of the Fellows within the Society and the way in which we confer fellowships are still actively evolving. 

How does someone become a Fellow?

IRMS fellowship is the senior level of society membership.  It is designed to acknowledge the most senior and respected information professionals. IRMS Fellowships are conferred annually following a process of nomination and election around February/March time. Applications for 2019 have now closed. 

Current members of the Society with ten years or more membership are eligible for nomination for fellowship.  Non-members are also eligible for nomination.  If elected, a non-member will be awarded Honorary Fellow status.

Who is eligible for nomination?

Fellowship or Honorary Fellowship may be awarded if one or more of the following criteria are met:

Eminence: an eminent individual recognised and acknowledged across the IM/RM sector and beyond. With a broad knowledge or be recognised as an expert in a particular field, and should have made a significant contribution to the sector and its perception to the general public;

Authority: an authoritative individual is recognised and respected for their knowledge and expertise in the sector, or has contributed to the development and perception of the IRMS or IM/RM sector;

Seniority: typically, an individual in a senior position with a range of experience with, or has had, responsibility for a large project or project design.

Nominees for fellowship will have a minimum of ten years’ practitioner experience in the IM/RM sector. Nominees for honorary fellowship need not necessarily need to qualify under this criterion.

Fellowship (FIRMS) may be combined with IRMS accredited member status (AMIRMS).  For further information on accredited status, please see

How do I nominate someone?

Nomination is a straight-forward process that requires two current members of the Society each write a brief statement in support of the nomination. We usually call for nominations around January of each year.

The detail of this process is:

  • Nominations should be submitted in the form of an email sent to
  • Those nominating must be current members of the Society.
  • Each nomination should include the name of the person being nominated and the names of the two members nominating the person.  All membership numbers must be included.
  • Each person being nominated must be informed of the nomination, and agree to being nominated, before a nomination is submitted
  • Each nomination must be accompanied by a supporting statement of between 200 and 250 words from each of the two members nominating - these statements should specify which of the qualifying criteria the person is nominated under, and why they are, in the opinion of that person, worthy of fellow status within that criterion
  • Each nomination will receive an email receipt
  • Please note, nominations will not be published


What happens after I nominate?

All valid nominations will be voted upon by the College of Fellows - the body comprising all current fellows and honorary fellows. The process for the nomination and election of fellows is as follows:

1. Nominations are invited from early in the year. The exact date will get announced to IRMS members nearer the time.

2. Those nominated are voted on in a secret ballot by the College of Fellows usually closing around March/Aprill.

3. Within this vote: those receiving 55% or more of the votes cast would be deemed to have been elected; those receiving 44.9% or less of the votes cast would be deemed to have failed to be elected on this occasion; and those receiving between 45% and 54.9% of the votes cast would be further discussed by a deliberation panel comprising of five existing fellows determined by the College of Fellows, following the close of the vote.

4. All those nominated are advised of the outcome of the election process by email around the end of March. The College of Fellows and Executive Committee are also advised of the results but they are not published beyond this circle. Provisions are then made to allow the successful nominees to be awarded at the Gala Dinner during our Conference.

How can I find out more?

To find out more information about IRMS Fellowship, please email us.


G Acheson (2019)

P Anderson (2017 - Honorary)


E Barber (2013)

K Batchelor (2013)

J Baines (2016 – Honorary)

A Bell (2016)

R Blake (2013 – Honorary)

D Bridge (2013)

J Burton (2016)


R Corbett (2018)

C Crookes (2014)


J Davies (2013)

P Duller (2013)

S Dunning (2017)




M Fresko (2013)


A Gadsden (2019)

M Gajadhar (2016)

S Garland (2013)

C Graham (2013 – Honorary)

S Graham (2017)

S Graham (2018)


H Hagan (2017)

I Hasan (2013)

S Hayes (2018)

S Howard (2013)

C Hughes (2013)

R Hutton (2015)




H Jack (2013)

R Jeffrey-Cook (2013)

C Johnson (2013)

P Jones (2013)


F Kearney (2019)

J King (2019)


J Lappin (2013)

R Leming (2019)

E Lomas (2013)

B Longmore (2017)


J MacKenzie (2017)

R Maguire (2013)

M McAllister (2017)

B McLean (2013)

J McLeod (2013)

O Morley (2013)

B Moult (2019)


M Noad (2019)

A North (2013)


J Obee (2019)

S Orr (2013)

O AOyewole(2015)


M Pierce Owen (2016)

R Poole (2013)

J Profitt (2017)


D Quinn (2018 - Honorary)


F Rankin (2017)

J Rannali (2014)

G Renke (2016 – Honorary)


M Sanderson (2013)

B Sheehy (2019)

A Shipman (2013 – Honorary)

G Sippings (2016)

D Smith (2018)

M Steemson (2013)

M Stephenson (2013)

J Straw (2013 – Honorary)


C Toon (2013)






J Wilson (2013)







Contact Us

Chester House
68 Chestergate
Macclesfield, SK11 6DY
United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)1625 664520
Fax: +44 (0)1625 664510


Follow Us
Become A Member

With a bi-monthly magazine, annual conference, accreditation possibilities and a competitively priced annual membership, there really is no reason why you shouldn't join this fantastic society!